Bob Davis Named  PLS National Alumni of the Year Award

Robert (Bob) Davis, South Carolina College of Pharmacy and Professor, Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center Professor, was named 2015 Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS) Alumni of the Year. Davis, MUSC Class of  1974 and 1975 (Doctor of Pharmacy), was presented the PLS Alumni of the Year Award during the 50th anniversary awards reception and dinner on Saturday, March 28, 2015 at the San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel during the American Pharmacy Association (APhA) 2015 Annual Meeting in San Diego. 

The National Alumni of the Year Award recognizes an alumnus of Phi Lambda Sigma who has exemplified leadership qualities in support of the pharmacy profession. The recipient of this award received an engraved plaque which was presented during the Phi Lambda Sigma awards banquet in conjunction with the APhA annual meeting.  Additionally, their name will appear on the perpetual plaque maintained at the Phi Lambda Sigma national office.   

A graduate of the Medical University of South Carolina, a Fellow and past President of the American Pharmacists Association, and past President of the South Carolina Pharmacy Association, Davis is currently is a Professor and chair  of the Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center.

The Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center ( is a supportive, energizing environment in which the most passionate, innovative-thinking, pharmacy entrepreneurs, educators and students conceive and realize change – stepping beyond the expected and looking beyond what pharmacy is, to explore what pharmacy can be.  KPIC provides the tools, the resources, and the relationships to accelerate improvement and innovation needed to conquer the challenges of our rapidly changing healthcare landscape. Created in 2010 with a $30 million dollar donation from University of South Carolina alumni Bill and Lou Kennedy, KPIC is headquartered in the South Carolina College of Pharmacy at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.

Dr. Davis was previously awarded the Arnold and Marie Schwartz Pharmacy Innovation Award for the innovative interdisciplinary pharmacy practice and entrepreneurial business model developed at Lexington Family Practice, Lexington, SC.  Bob brings a wealth of business knowledge and leaderships skills developed through a varied and successful career in the pharmacy industry including positions with specialty pharmacy, pharmacy benefit managers, drug wholesalers, healthcare purchasing organizations, and community pharmacy.

This is not the first year that SCCP has been recognized as Pharmacy Leaders by the PLS.  Ralph Wilkie MUSC ’53 was named winner of the 2014 Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS) National Alumnus of the Year Award, joining Pamela Whitmire MUSC ’80, Col. Mike Heath MUSC ’74, and Bobby Bradham MUSC ’77 as winners of this national award five out of the last six years.

Also at the 2010 PLS Awards Ceremony, William Shealy, a fourth-year student pharmacist on the MUSC campus of SCCP, was selected as one of the 2010 chapter members of the year. Bruce Canaday, a faculty member at the University of North Carolina and an honorary member of the Beta Chi Chapter at MUSC, was selected as the recipient of the Procter and Gamble National Leadership Award. At the House of Delegates meeting, SCCP third-year student Kevin Curler was elected PLS National Executive Committee Member at Large.

At the 2008 PLS Awards Ceremony, MUSC and the South Carolina College of Pharmacy nearly swept the field: Brie Dunn ’08 won the Founder’s Award, Joe DiPiro won the Procter and Gamble National Leadership Award, and Cathy Worrall won the Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award. In 2009, the chapter won the Chapter of the Year award and Danielle Baskin, a fourth-year student pharmacist on the MUSC campus of the SCCP, was selected to serve as the regional leader for Region 3. 

Those honors were added to an already crowded organizational resume. Prior to 2008, national recognitions for the Beta Chi chapter have included: six students elected to the Phi Lambda Sigma National Executive Committee, six students appointed to serve as Regional Liaisons, two faculty members selected to receive the National Leadership Award; recipient of the Leadership Challenge Grant for two consecutive years (2003 and 2004); recipient of the New Chapter Incentive Grant (2002); recipient of the Chapter of the Year Award (2006).

Phi Lambda Sigma was organized in March 1965 by then student Charlie Thomas on the campus of Auburn University, The mission of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the National Pharmacy Leadership Society, to support pharmacy leadership commitment by recognizing leaders and fostering leadership development.