Wayne Weart, Christina Cox and Jean Nappi all were honored for exemplary service by the South Carolina Society of Health-System Pharmacists (SCSHP) during the 2015 SCSHP Annual Meeting, held March 15-17 at Hilton Head Marriott Resort.

Along with the three winners - all clinical pharmacy and outcomes sciences faculty members at the South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SCCP) - SCCP students Jordan Miller and Ardis Copenhaver were also honored as scholarship recipients.

Two SCCP adjunct faculty were also honored as Joel Melroy, manager of the Adult Inpatient Pharmacy at SCCP founding institution Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), was SCSHP 2015 Pharmacist of the Year; and John Pearson, clinical director of pharmacy services at SCCP’s Greenville Health System (GHS) campus, received the Outgoing President Award.

Weart was presented with the Kenneth Flinchum Distinguished Service Award  while Cox and Nappi were named co-winners of the 2015 George D. Schwerin Mentor Award.
Cox is an assistant professor on SCCP’s University of South Carolina (USC) campus while Nappi (professor) and Weart (professor emeritus) are both based on the MUSC campus, along with students Miller and Copenhaver.

The Flinchum Award is presented to an individual who has made exceptional and sustained contributions to SCSHP and the practice of pharmacy; the Schwerin Award honors an individual in recognition of contributions to the professional community by inspiring, growing, educating and challenging the pharmacists of the future.

Neither award is given every year, but rather only when the SCSHP Board of Directors feels it has been merited.

The most recent Schwerin Award was last year, when SCCP vice chair of clinical pharmacy and outcomes sciences Brandon Bookstaver won, but the previous Flinchum Award was the 2011 honor given to David Brown. Before Bookstaver, the last full time SCCP faculty member to win one of the two was Weart’s 2004 Schwerin Award.