The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) Board of Trustees voted today to adopt the identical resolution, passed last week by the University of South Carolina (USC) Board of Trustees, regarding the restructuring of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SCCP).

The boards voted on a plan to restructure their pharmacy collaboration to include separate accreditations for the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree program on each campus and a memorandum of understanding (MOU) that will maintain areas of academic collaboration.

The USC Board of Trustees approved the plan on Friday (Aug. 7) and the MUSC Board of Trustees took up an identical resolution at their meeting today.

“This decision means we will go ahead with pursuing independent accreditation for the doctor of pharmacy programs at USC and MUSC, pending approval by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education, and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges,” said Randall C. Rowen, interim dean of SCCP and USC campus dean.

“The restructuring will progress deliberately,” said Philip Hall, dean of the SCCP’s MUSC campus. “The education of our students remains our number one priority, and we’re working closely with ACPE to ensure we maintain our existing accreditation for our current students until they complete the program.”